Press Release

LaGrange Symphony Orchestra PO Box 2321 LaGrange, Georgia 30241 www.lagrangesymphony.org

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE February 14, 2011

Contact: Dave Marler, 706.594.4800, marlermedia@gmail.com

LaGrange Symphony Announces Winners of 2011 Young Artists Competition

Prepared by LSO Staff

The Board of Directors of the LaGrange Symphony Orchestra has announced the winners of the 15th annual Young Artists Competition, held recently at Callaway Auditorium on the campus of LaGrange College in LaGrange, Georgia.

Maryna Yermolenko won the Dorothy Allen Turner Award for first place. A student of Elmar Oliveira, she is currently pursuing a Bachelor of Music in violin performance at Lynn University Conservatory of Music in Boca Raton, FL.

As first place winner, Ms. Yermolenko will receive \$1,500 and perform as a featured soloist with the LaGrange Symphony during its 2011-2012 season.

The Max Kaplan Award for second place was won by violinist Suliman Tekalli. He is enrolled in the Schwob School of Music at Columbus State University and studies with Sergiu Schwarz. This prize carries a \$1,000 cash award.

Winner of the NOTE Award for third place and a \$500 cash award is violinist Jing Yang, a native of China and current student at Schwob School of Music at Columbus State University. Jing, who won the 2009 Schwob School of Music Concerto Competition and appeared as a soloist with the CSU Philharmonic also studies with Sergiu Schwarz.

This competition was open to participants in string instruments under age 26 from Georgia, Alabama, Florida, South Carolina, North Carolina or Tennessee. Next year's competition will be limited to participants in piano.

Additional information about the LaGrange Symphony's annual Young Artists Competition is available online at www.lagrangesymphony.org.